24 physician candidates faced defeat on Election Day, but some prevailed

The majority of physicians running for congressional offices faced losses in the election on Nov. 8, 2016, according to MedpageToday.

These physicians faced losses on Election Day:

1. Arizona

  • Democrat Matt Heinz, MD, fell short of a seat, losing to Republican incumbent Martha McSally, in the District 2 congressional race.

2. California

  • Democrat Robert Derlet, MD, lost to Republican incumbent Tom McClintock in the District 4 congressional race.
  • Republican Richard Fox, MD, captured 28 percent of the votes, suffering a loss to incumbent democrat Ann Eshoo for the District 18 congressional seat. 
  • Incumbent Ted Lieu defeated Republican Kenneth Wright, MD, in District 33.
  • Republican James Veltmeyer, MD, lost to incumbent Susan Davis in District 55.

3. Florida

  • In District 25, incumbent Mario Diaz-Balart defeated Democrat Alina Valdes, MD.

4. Illinois

  • Democrat Rep. Danny Davis held onto his seat, defeating Republican Jeff Leef, MD, in District 7.

5. Louisiana

  • Rep. Charles Boustany, MD, and Republican John Kennedy will battle it out in a run-off election later in 2016.

6. Maryland

  • Republican Mark Plaster, MD, lost to incumbent John Sarbanes for the 3rd District congressional seat.
  • House Minority Whip Steny Hoyer triumphed over Republican Mark Arness, MD, in District 5.

7. Michigan

  • Republican incumbent Bill Huizenga saw victory over Libertarian Erwin Haas, MD, and Ron Graeser, DO, of the U.S. Taxpayers Party.
  • Democrat Brenda Lawrence held onto her seat, defeating Republican Howard Klausner, MD.

8. Missouri

  • In District 4, Democrat Gordon Christensen, MD, suffered defeat to Republican incumbent Vicky Hartzler.

9. Nebraska

  • Democrat Daniel Wik, MD, lost to Republican Rep. Jeff Fortenberry in the District 1 congressional race.

10. Nevada

  • Democrat Catherin Cortez Masto barely claimed victory over Republican Rep. Joe Heck, DO, with a 47 percent to 45 percent vote.

11. New Jersey

  • Steve Fenichel, MD, lost among a slew of candidates to Republican Rep. Frank LoBiondo in the 2nd congressional district race.
  • Rajit Malliah, MD, of the Green Party, also lost among other candidates, to Rep. Frank Pallone in the 6th district. 
  • Republican Hector Castillo, MD, only grasped 28 percent of the votes in District 9, losing to Democrat Bill Pascrell.

12. North Carolina

  • Mohammad Sabur-Nasiri, MD, lost to Richard Bur in the race to the Senate.

13. Oregon

  • Republican Bud Pierce, MD, lost to Gov. Kate Brown.

14. Texas

  • Democrat Rep. Marc Veasey triumphed over Republican Monte Mitchell, MD, in the 33rd District.

15. Utah

  • Democrat Peter Clemens, MD, faced defeat in the 1st congressional race, to Republican Rep. Rob Bishop.

16. Wyoming

  • Republican Liz Cheney grasped a congressional seat over Daniel Cummings, MD, of the Constitution Party.

But, a few won or held onto their seats:

17. Georgia

  • Republican Drew Ferguson, DMD, captured the victory, over Democrat Angela Pendley.
  • Republican Tom Price, MD, achieved reelection to the House.

18. Florida

  • Republican Neal Dunn, MD, grasped victory over three candidates for the congressional seat in District 2.

19. Kentucky

  • Sen. Rand Paul, MD, won reelection.

20. Louisiana

  • Republican Ralph Abraham, MD, earned reelection as a state representative.

21. California

  • Democrat Ami Bera, MD, grasped reelection in the House.
  • Democrat Raul Ruiz, MD, again grasped a seat in the House.

22. Indiana

  • Republican Larry Bucshon, MD, won reelection in the House.

23. Texas

  • Republican Michael Burgess, MD, was reelected to the House.

24. Tennessee

  • Republican Scott DesJarlais, MD, held on to his seat in the House.
  • David "Phil" Roe, MD, also grasped reelection.

25. Maryland

  • Republican Andy Harris, MD, was reelected to the House.

Recent articles:
VA Maryland Health Care System names Vamsee Potluri ambulatory care operations director — 5 things to know
5 key points on the US physician shortage
What President-elect Donald Trump's win means for the European pharmaceutical industry — 4 key points

Copyright © 2023 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers

Featured Podcast