14 physicians or ASCs receiving awards, honors in 2018

Here are 14 physicians or ASCs that received awards or recognitions in 2018 covered on Becker's ASC Review:

Press Ganey recognized Lewisburg, Pa.-based Evangelical Community Hospital's outpatient surgical services departments as a 2018 Guardian of Excellence Award winner.

Syracuse, N.Y.-based Madison Irving Surgery Center nurse Kathleen Murphy, RN, was awarded the 14th annual Umeshchandra Patil Family Educational Award by the Crouse Health Foundation.

Juan Uson, RN, the administrator of the Alaska-based Surgery Center of Wasilla received Westchester, Ill.-based Regent Surgical Health's R.I.S.E. Administrator of the Year award.

The American Academy of Ophthalmology recognized several ophthalmologists for their professional contributions at AAO 2018, Oct. 27 to Oct. 30 in Chicago. Read the whole list here.

Windsor, Calif.-based PDI Surgery Center's Surani Hayre-Kwan, NP, accepted North Bay Business Journal's 2018 Nonprofit Leadership Award.

Vizient awarded several company honors, including the Ambulatory Care Quality and Accountability award, at the 2018 Vizient Connections Summit, Oct. 2-4 in Las Vegas.

Ritesh Shah, MD, received the IJS Innovation Trailblazer Award of Excellence for adopting the intellijoint HIP navigation system for hip surgery into his practice at Chicago-based Illinois Bone & Joint Institute, and in an ASC at Morton Grove, Ill.-based Illinois Sports Medicine & Orthopedic Surgery Center.

The St. Petersburg, Fla.-based Carillon Surgery Center's ambulatory surgical team, registered nurses and others received the Daisy Award For Extraordinary Nurses.

Joan Miller, MD, received the American Ophthalmological Society's Lucien Howe Medal for her service to the retina and ophthalmology fields.

The Ambulatory Surgery Center Association presented the 3rd annual Nap Gary Legacy Lifetime Achievement Award to two individuals making a positive difference in the ASC community.

The Competency & Credentialing Institute named Wyomissing, Pa.-based Reading Hospital SurgiCenter at Spring Ridge and the North Las Vegas-based VA Southern Nevada Healthcare System dual recipients of the 2018 TrueNorth Award.  

Nonprofit vision and healthcare organization Lighthouse Guild awarded Joshua Stein, MD, the 2018 Pisart Award.

Continental Who's Who named Mandi Conway, MD, Pinnacle Professional of the Year in the field of medicine.

Marquis Who's Who awarded gastroenterologist Michael Samach, MD, its Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award.

More articles on leadership:
Premier Orthopaedics taps Allscripts for health IT platform — 3 insights
Tenet signs 4-year contract with Humana — 4 details
The Illinois Bone & Joint Institute opens new location: 3 details

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2019. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Top 40 Articles from the Past 6 Months