American Academy of Ophthalmology to bestow 10 honors

The American Academy of Ophthalmology will recognize several ophthalmologists for their professional contributions at AAO 2018, Oct. 27 to Oct. 30 in Chicago.

Here are the honorees:

1. Laureate Recognition Award: Steven T. Charles, MD. Dr. Charles will receive AAO's highest honor. Dr. Charles is a leader in advancing vitreoretinal surgery and the innovator behind some of ophthalmology's most commonly used instruments. He has more than 100 issued or pending patents.

2. Distinguished Service Award: Medical School Education in Ophthalmology directors. AAO is recognizing the group of directors because of the role they play in shaping future ophthalmologists.

3. Special Recognition Award: The National Medical Association. NMA is working to close racial health disparities.

4. Outstanding Advocate Award: Bradley Black, MD. Dr. Black worked with the National Association of School Nurses and American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus to improve pediatric vision care.

5. Outstanding Humanitarian Service Award: David Heiden, MD, and William White, MD. Dr. Heiden worked with a team of physicians to prevent blindness in the HIV/AIDS population. Dr. White built the first eye clinic in Haiti. He has performed tens of thousands of free examinations at the clinic.

6. International Blindness Prevention Award: Jacob Pe'er, MD. Dr. Pe'er works with physicians around the world to educate them and train them to provide ophthalmologic care.

7. Straatsma Award: Preston Blomquist, MD. Jointly presented by the AAO and Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology to a school director, the honor goes to Dr. Blomquist for his teachings at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas. He has been program director for 163 residents to date.

8. Artemis Award: Camila Ventura, MD, PhD. The Artemis Award recognizes a young ophthalmologist. Dr. Ventura was the first to report ocular findings in babies affected by the Zika virus. She specifically studied how Zika caused structural damage to the eyes as well as the pathophysiology behind the manifestations.

9. EnergEYES Award: Julia Haller, MD. AAO's leadership award was presented to Dr. Haller for her efforts helping to shape and develop the next generation of ophthalmologists.

10. Guests of Honor: AAO invited Wallace Alward, MD, Paul Lichter, MD, and Jeffrey Nerad, MD, to serve as guests of honor for their contributions to ophthalmology.

Read more about the awards here.

More articles on leadership:
Dixie Regional Medical Center opens outpatient respiratory clinic — 3 notes
ASC supply chain tip of the day: Collaborate with sales reps
Drs. Richard Blumberg, Brent Lacey & more: 3 GI physicians making headlines

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Top 40 Articles from the Past 6 Months