Certificate-of-need status for all 50 states

Thirty-seven states have certificate of need legislation in some capacity. The National Conference of State Legislatures listed the status of CON in all states as of Aug. 25, 2016.

Alabama: yes
Alaska: yes
Arizona: yes*
Arkansas: yes
California: no
Colorado: no
Connecticut: yes
Delaware: yes
Florida: yes
Georgia: yes
Hawaii: yes
Idaho: no
Illinois: yes
Indiana: no
Iowa: yes
Kansas: no
Kentucky: yes
Louisiana: no
Maine: yes
Maryland: yes
Massachusetts: yes
Michigan: yes
Minnesota: yes*
Mississippi: yes**
Missouri: yes
Montana: yes
Nebraska: yes
Nevada: yes
New Hampshire: no
New Jersey: yes
New Mexico: no
New York: yes
North Carolina: yes
North Dakota: no
Ohio: yes
Oregon: yes
Pennsylvania: no
Rhode Island: yes
South Carolina: yes
South Dakota: no
Tennessee: yes
Texas: no
Utah: no
Vermont: yes
Virginia: yes
Washington: yes
Wisconsin: yes*
Wyoming: no

*indicates a variation on certificate-of-need legislation

**exception for single-specialty ASCs

More articles on surgery centers:
30 things for ASC leaders to know for January
Physicians Endoscopy acquires minority interest in The Endoscopy Center at St. Mary—4 points
Rising stars: 84 ASC leaders under 40

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2021. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers