American Society of Plastic Surgeons elects Dr. Jeffrey Janis president — 5 insights

The American Society of Plastic Surgeons named Jeffrey E. Janis, MD, its next president.

Here's what you should know:

1. Dr. Janis will assume the position at Plastic Surgery The Meeting, Oct. 6 to Oct. 10 in Orlando, Fla. He will serve for one year.

2. He is a professor and the executive vice chairman of Columbus-based The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center's plastic surgery department.

3. Dr. Janis earned his medical degree from Cleveland-based Case Western Reserve University. He completed a residency at Dallas-based University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center.

4. He joined The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center's staff in 2003. He served there until 2013. During his tenure, he was recognized several times. His honors include: Clinician of the Year, Distinguished Physician of the Year, Outstanding Leadership Award and two Special Achievement Awards for Outstanding Contributions and Dedication to Advances in Plastic Surgery Resident Education.

5. Dr. Janis was inducted into the Southwest Academy of Teachers.

More articles on leadership:
Regent Surgical Health promotes Bob Ryan to COO: 5 things to know
ASC leader to know: William Wilcox of USPI
MedBridge creates senior management team — 4 insights

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2018. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Top 40 Articles from the Past 6 Months