Sherman Prize names 2019 winners — 3 insights

The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation named its 2019 Sherman Prize honorees, recognizing individuals working to overcome Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis.

What you should know:

1. The 2019 honorees are:

  • Maria Abreu, MD, the director of the Crohn's and Colitis Center at the University of Miami Health System
  • William Sandborn, MD, chief of gastroenterology and director of the Inflammatory Bowel Disease Center at UC San Diego Health
  • Florian Rieder, MD, an assistant professor of inflammation and immunity at Cleveland Clinic

2. Drs. Abreu and Sandborn each received the $100,000 Sherman Prize, while Dr. Rieder received the $25,000 Sherman Emerging Leader Prize.

3. This is the fourth time the Sherman Charitable Foundation has recognized individuals for their efforts in the fight against inflammatory bowel diseases.

Bruce and Cynthia Sherman commended the collective efforts of this year's Sherman Prize recipients. They said: "In the fourth year of the Sherman Prize, we're proud to honor Drs. Abreu, Sandborn and Rieder, visionaries who share a deep commitment to addressing the unmet challenges of IBD. The holistic care they provide and the rigorous scientific research they lead is improving the quality of life for people with IBD today, and laying the foundation for greater discoveries in the future."

To read more on the honorees, click here.

More articles on surgery centers: 
ASIPP taps Dr. Charles Daknis as chapter president
Proposed anesthesia payments for 2020 — 3 things to know
Dr. David Walega testifies to House Committee on Small Business

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers