AGA awards 52 investigators research funding

The American Gastroenterological Association Research Foundation awarded 52 researchers funding in its 2017 award year.

Here are the award winners:

AGA Research Scholar Award

  • Silvia Affo, PhD, Columbia University, New York, NY
  • Michael Dougan, MD, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston
  • Jay Thiagarajah, MBBS, PhD, Boston Children's Hospital

AGA-Takeda Pharmaceuticals Research Scholar Award in Inflammatory Bowel Disease

  • Josephine Ni, MD, University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia

AGA-Gastric Cancer Foundation Research Scholar Award in Gastric Cancer

  • Jose Saenz, MD, PhD, Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis

AGA-Bernard Lee Schwartz Designated Research Scholar Award in Pancreatic Cancer

  • Florencia McAllister, MD, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston

AGA-R. Robert and Sally Funderburg Research Award in Gastric Cancer

  • Zhibin Chen, MD, PhD, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine

AGA-Caroline Craig Augustyn and Damian Augustyn Award in Digestive Cancer

  • Saha Nissim, MD, PhD, Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston

AGA-June and Donald O. Castell, MD, Esophageal Clinical Research Award

  • Kristle Lynch, MD, University of Pennsylvania

AGA-Dannon Gut Microbiome in Health Award

  • Gary D. Wu, MD, University of Pennsylvania

AGA-Microbiome Junior Investigator Research Award

  • Jeannette Messer, PhD, The University of Chicago

AGA-Medtronic Research and Development Pilot Award in Technology

  • Bani Chander-Roland, MD, Northwell Hofstra School of Medicine in Hempstead, N.Y.

AGA-Pfizer Young Investigator Pilot Research Award in Inflammatory Bowel Disease

  • Shrinivas Bishu, MD, University of Michigan in Ann Arbor
  • David Boone, PhD, Indiana University School of Medicine in Indianapolis
  • Sarah Glover, DO, University of Florida in Gainesville

AGA-Rome Foundation Functional Gastroenterology and Motility Pilot Research Award

  • Gianluca Cipriani, PhD, Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn.
  • Geoffrey Preidis, MD, PhD, Baylor College of Medicine in Houston

AGA-Elsevier Pilot Research Award

  • Jennifer Lai, MD, The Regents of the University of California in San Francisco
  • Jill Smith, MD, Georgetown University in Washington, D.C.

AGA-Elsevier Gut Microbiome Pilot Research Award

  • Minghua Tang, PhD, University of Colorado Denver in Aurora

AGA Investing in the Futures Student Research Fellowship

  • Chandler Brown, Gallaudet University in Washington, D.C.
  • Carlos Lodeiro, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso Paul L. Foster School of Medicine
  • Alyssa Murillo, University of Illinois at Chicago College of Medicine
  • Kristeen Onyirioha, University of Texas San Antonio Health Sciences Center
  • Gabriela Portilla Skerrett, San Juan Bautista School of Medicine in Puerto Rico
  • Ray Ramirez, Eastern Virginia Medical School in Norfolk
  • Rani Richardson, University of Pennsylvania
  • Nefertiti Tyehemba, State University of New York Upstate Medical University in Syracuse
  • Elsie Ureta, California State University of Los Angeles
  • Carlos Zavala, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

AGA-Moti L and Kamla Rustgi International Travel Award

  • Zahra Dantes, PhD, Gastroenterology Laboratory, Klinikum rechts der Isar, TUM in Munich, Germany
  • Magali de Bruyn, PhD, KU Leuven in Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium

AGA-GRG Fellow Abstract of the Year

  • Parambir Dulai, MBBS, UC San Diego

AGA-GRG Fellow Abstract Prize

  • Edward Barnes, MD, University of North Carolina School of Medicine in Chapel Hill
  • Daniel Duncan, MD, Boston Children's Hospital
  • Amy Engevik, PhD, Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tenn.
  • Tossapol Kerdsirichairat, MD, University of Michigan Health System
  • Anne-Marie Overstreet, PhD, Indiana University School of Medicine in Indianapolis
  • Shusuke Toden, PhD, Baylor University Medical Center/Baylor Research Institute
  • Amy Tsou, MD, PhD, Boston Children's Hospital
  • Lavanya Viswanathan, MD, MS, Augusta (Ga.) University
  • Hongtao Wang, MD, PhD, Baylor College of Medicine and Texas Children's Hospital

AGA Student Abstract of the Year

  • Michael Laffin, MD, University of Alberta in Canada

AGA Student Abstract Prize

  • Lauren Cole, University of Arizona College of Medicine in Phoenix
  • Cindy Law, University of Ottawa in Canada
  • Christopher Moreau University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
  • Satish Munigala, , MPH, St. Louis University
  • Rajiv Perinbasekar, MD, University of Maryland Medical Center in Baltimore
  • Chung Sang Tse, MD, Mayo Clinic
  • Anika Ullah, UC San Diego
  • Kathy Williams, MS, Cooper Medical School of Rowan University in Camden, N.J.
  • Quan Zhou, University of Michigan

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers

Featured Podcast