13 GI physicians making headlines – May 26, 2015

Here are 13 gastroenterologists and colorectal surgeons who were featured in the news within the past week.

The American Gastroenterological Association honored nine gastroenterologists with its Annual Recognition Awards at Digestive Disease Week in Washington, D.C.:

•    Robert Sandler, MD, MPH, AGAF, University of North Carolina (Chapel Hill)
•    C. Richard Boland, MD, AGAF, Baylor University Medical Center (Dallas)
•    Patrick Kamath, MD, Mayo Clinic (Rochester, Minn.)
•    Charles Melbern Wilcox, MD, MSPH, University of Alabama at Birmingham
•    Susan Henning, PhD, AGAF, University of North Carolina (Chapel Hill)
•    M. Bishr Omary, MD, PhD, University of Michigan (Ann Arbor)
•    William Chey, MD, AGAF, University of Michigan (Ann Arbor)
•    Louis Y. Korman, MD, Metropolitan Gastroenterology Group (Washington, D.C.)
•    Jay Hoofnagle, MD, National Institutes of Health (Bethesda, Md.)

Michael Camilleri, MD, MPhil, MRCP, FACP, AGAF, became the president of the American Gastroenterological Association.

SonarMD, LLC, released its SonarMD platform, a population health management tool for inflammatory bowel disease, the brainchild of gastroenterologist Lawrence Kosinski, MD, MBA, AGAF, FACG, managing partner of Illinois Gastroenterology Group in Elgin.

Yvette Tache, PhD, received the 2014 Middleton Award for her research on peripheral autonomic pathways influencing GI function.

Anu K. Mathew, MD, received the Compassionate Doctor Award from Vitals.

Copyright © 2022 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Learning Opportunities

Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers

Featured Podcast