National Patient Safety Foundation names 2016 DAISY Award winners — 5 highlights

Rachel Whittaker, BSN, RN, CPN, of the Children's Hospital Colorado in Aurora, and the Clinical Informatics Council of the University of New Mexico Hospitals in Albuquerque are recipients of the 2016 National Patient Safety Foundation DAISY Awards for Extraordinary Nurses.

Here are five highlights:

1. The individual award was given to Ms. Whittaker, while the team award went to the University of New Mexico Hospitals.

2. The awards will be conferred during the 18th Annual NPSF Patient Safety Congress from May 23 to 25 in Scottsdale, Ariz.

3. The DAISY award is given to nurses in more than 2,200 healthcare facilities in all 50 states and in 14 other countries.

4. Ms. Whittaker was selected for her leadership, compassion and practice of patient-and family-centered care, particularly during difficult end-of-life decisions.

5. The Clinical Informatics Council at the University of New Mexico Hospitals received their institution's DAISY award for the depth of their impact on the organization's electronic health record and the processes they use to pursue improvements in patient care through EHR.

Copyright © 2023 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Patient Safety Tools & Resources Database

Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers

Featured Podcast