Dr. Richard McCallum receives Texas Laureate Award — 6 insights

Richard McCallum, MD, a professor and founding chair of the department of internal medicine at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso, was named a 2017 Laureate by the Texas Chapter of the American College of Physicians, according to the El Paso Herald-Post.

The Laureate Award is given to Texas physicians who demonstrate "an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education or research, and in service to their community, their chapter and the American College of Physicians,” according to George Crawford, MD, the Texas Southern ACP governor.

Here is what you should know about Dr. McCallum:

1. He is a board certified gastroenterologist who has researched brain-stomach interactions that cause nausea and vomiting in patients with the digestive disorder gastroparesis.

2. Dr. McCallum's research has appeared in over 450 peer-reviewed articles and 120 textbook chapters. He has edited 14 textbooks on gastroenterology.

3. In 2009, Dr. McCallum joined TTUHSC El Paso as professor and founding chair of the department of internal medicine.

4. In 2014, Dr. McCallum created the RotaCare Clinic in El Paso in partnership with the Rotary Club. The clinic is available to individuals without any other access to healthcare services, and provides first- and second-year medical students with initial clinical experiences under licensed physicians' supervision.

5. Dr. McCallum is the second TTUHSC El Paso faculty member to receive the Laureate Award from the ACP, which has been given annually since 1985. In his acceptance speech, Dr. McCallum noted that the associate professor and vice chair for education in the department of internal medicine Harry Davis II, MD, received the award in 2011.

6. Dr. McCallum received his medical degree from The University of Queensland Medical School in Brisbane, Australia, and underwent fellowship training at Wadsworth Veterans Hospital and the University of California in Los Angeles.

More articles on leadership:

Dr. Eric Everett Lindstrom awarded Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award — 5 insights

Dr. William De La Pena receives distinguished service award — 3 insights

Desert Hills Plastic Surgery Center founder awarded best cosmetic surgeon award — 3 insights

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2019. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Top 40 Articles from the Past 6 Months