Sherman Prize names 2018 winners — 6 insights

The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation awarded three 2018 Sherman Prizes to Pittsburgh-based UPMC's David Binion, MD, New York City-based Mount Sinai Hospitals' Jean-Frederic Colombel, MD, and Rochester, Minn.-based Mayo Clinic's Amy Lightner, MD.

Here's what you should know:

1. The Sherman Prize recognizes individuals who have made "exceptional and pioneering contributions that inspire tomorrow's innovators in the fight to overcome Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis."

2. Dr. Binion was recognized for his research on immunologic, cellular and physiological alterations related to Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis.

3. Dr. Colombel was recognized for his work on researching the genetic causes of inflammatory bowel disease.

4. Dr. Lightner was recognized for her work advancing minimally invasive surgery and regenerative therapies.

5. The foundation awards two $100,000 prizes annually to individuals that have made significant contributions to address the challenges associated with IBD and a $25,000 prize to an emerging leader in the field.

6. The prizes will be presented at a ceremony at the Advances in Inflammatory Bowel Diseases conference, Dec. 13 in Orlando, Fla.

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers

Featured Podcast