Meaningful Use in Gastroenterology: What Do Practice Leaders Need to Know?

What are the important dates, requirements and impacts of meaningful use for gastroenterologists?

Here are three important areas of meaningful use for gastroenterologists to understand, according to the American Gastroenterological Association's AGA Roadmap to the Future of GI Toolbox.
Important dates

•    2011 to 2014: Stage 1 Meaningful Use
•    2013 to 2016: Stage 2 Meaningful Use
•    Jan. 1, 2015: Deadline to adopt and demonstrate meaningful use or face annual 1 percent decrease in Medicare payments.
•    2017: Stage 3 Meaningful Use expected to begin. Focus to be on improved outcomes.


•    Physicians (MDs and DOs)
•    Nurse practitioners
•    Physician assistants who serve in federally qualified health centers or rural health clinics led by a physician assistant
•    Professionals who provide 90 percent of services in a hospital inpatient or emergency room setting are not eligible for incentive payments

Financial impact

•    Participants can receive up to $44,000 through the Medicare EHR Incentive Program
•    Participations can receive up to $63,750 through the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program
•    Providers who do not adopt EHRs and demonstrate meaningful use by 2015 will face 1 percent payment cuts to Medicare reimbursement each year

More Articles on Gastroenterology:
Gastroenterology in the News: 38 Physician Moves & Honors
4 Statistics on Colorectal Cancer in 2014
Digestive Endoscopy Center Wins Integrity Award

Copyright © 2022 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers

Featured Podcast