Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation honors 3 researchers for GI contributions: 3 highlights

Three researchers have been recognized for their contributions to gastroenterology.

Here's what you need to know:

1. Ralf F.W. Bartenschlager of Germany-based Heidelberg University, Charles M. Rice of New York-based Rockefeller University and Michael J. Sofia of Canada-based Arbutus Biopharma were awarded the 2016 Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award.

2. The 2016 Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award recognizes those who have made substantial contributions toward the understanding, diagnosis, prevention and treatment of disease.

3. These three researchers were honored for their dedication to hepatitis C drug development, including studying the replication of the hepatitis C virus, which they used to develop candidate drugs that target the liver using this information.

More articles on gastroenterology and endoscopy:
Biggest hepatology breakthroughs in 2016: Nonalcoholic steatohepatitis, primary biliary cholangitis
ASGE comments on 21st Century Cures Act: 3 notes
IBD monitoring index may pave the way for GI mobile health: 3 study insights

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers