AGA Announces 2012 Recognition Awards

The American Gastroenterological Association has announced it has named the 2012 winners of its recognition awards, according to a news release.


The award winners are as follows:

  • Julius Friedenwald Medal — Emmet B. Keeffe, MD, AGAF (awarded posthumously)
  • William Beaumont Prize in Gastroenterology — Richard S. Blumberg, MD, AGAF, of Brigham and Women's Hospital & Hans Clevers, MD, PhD, of the Hubrecht Institute in the Netherlands
  • Distinguished Educator Award — John Del Valle, MD, AGAF, of the University of Michigan
  • Distinguished Mentor Award — Michael Camilleri, MD, AGAF, of the Mayo Clinic
  • Distinguished Clinician Awards — John I. Allen, MD, MBA, AGAF, of Minnesota Gastroenterology & Timothy T. Nostrant, MD, AGAF, of the University of Michigan


"AGA recognition award recipients are individuals who have been nominated by their peers for achieving the highest level of esteem and confidence from their colleagues," said C. Richard Boland, MD, AGAF, president of the AGA Institute, in the release. "These individuals are the leaders of our field and have made truly remarkable contributions to the AGA and society. AGA is comprised of many distinguished and talented individuals who help make AGA an accomplished organization by their tremendous contributions to the field of gastroenterology."


Related Articles on the AGA:

Study: Inflammation Might Impact Reflux to Esophageal Cancer Progression

AGA Survey: Most Baby Boomers Never Tested for Hep C

AGA Releases ABIM-Approved Practice Improvement Module

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers

Featured Podcast