WHO: 12 highest priority superbugs

The World Health Organization compiled a list of antibiotic-resistant pathogens it deemed a priority on March 20, 2017, according to The Washington Post.

The organization formulated the list based on the severity of the threat they posed to human health.

Here are the following 12 pathogens, beginning with the highest priority.

Priority 1: Critical

1. Acinetobacter baumannii, carbapenem-resistant
2. Pseudomonas aeruginosa, carbapenem-resistant
3. Enterobacteriaceae, carbapenem-resistant, ESBL-producing

Priority 2: High

4. Enterococcus faecium, vancomycin-resistant
5. Staphylococcus aureus, methicillin-resistant, vancomycin-intermediate and resistant
6. Helicobacter pylori, clarithromycin-resistant
7. Campylobacter spp., fluoroquinolone-resistant
8. Salmonellae, fluoroquinolone-resistant
9. Neisseria gonorrhoeae, cephalosporin-resistant, fluoroquinolone-resistant

Priority 3: Medium

10. Streptococcus pneumoniae, penicillin-non-susceptible
11. Haemophilus influenzae, ampicillin-resistant
12. Shigella spp., fluoroquinolone-resistant

More articles on quality & infection control:
5 key takeaways on HIT-related sentinel events in Pennsylvania hospitals
Study: Surgical scorecards reduce supply chain costs by 6.5%, yield $836.1k in savings
6 things to note about hand hygiene compliance

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Patient Safety Tools & Resources Database

Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers