The 8 ASC quality reporting measures CMS wants to remove

Within its proposed 2019 ASC and HOPD payment update, CMS also addressed the ASC Quality Reporting Program. The proposed updates would remove eight measures from the required reporting list for payment determination over the next few years, according to an ASCA report.

Here are the eight quality reporting measures CMS may remove from the required reporting list:

1. ASC-8: Influenza Vaccination Coverage Among Healthcare Personnel

2. ASC-1: Patient Burn

3. ASC-2: Patient Fall

4. ASC-3: Wrong Site, Wrong Side, Wrong Patient, Wrong Procedure, Wrong Implant

5. ASC-4: All-Cause Hospital Transfer/Admission

6. ASC-9: Endoscopy/Polyp Surveillance Follow-Up Interval Normal for Colonoscopy in Average Risk Patients

7. ASC-10: Endoscopy: Endoscopy/Polyp Surveillance: Colonoscopy Interval for Patients with a History of Adenomatous Polyps-Avoidance of Inappropriate Use

8. ASC-11: Cataracts-Improvement in Patient's Visual Function within 90 Days Following Cataract Surgery

The agency would remove ASC-8 beginning with the 2020 calendar year, and the remaining measures beginning in the 2021 calendar year. Comments on the proposed rule are due Sept. 24.

More articles on surgery centers:
House passes ASC Payment Transparency Act, earning ASCA praise: 6 things to know
Timeline of 41 ASC industry transactions in 2018
Optum posts $24.7B in revenues & more—7 ASC company key notes

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2019. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Patient Safety Tools & Resources Database

Top 40 Articles from the Past 6 Months