Joint Commission, NQF Name Annual John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards Recipients

The Joint Commission and the National Quality Forum and have announced the four 2010 recipients of the annual John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards, according to a jointly issued news release.


The honorees, by award category, are:

Individual achievement: John H. Eichhorn, MD, University of Kentucky, Lexington, Ky., and James L. Reinertsen, MD, The Reinertsen Group, Alta, Wyo.

Dr. Eichhorn is recognized for his work in improving the quality of anesthesia care and patient safety through the development and application of practice standards and protocols.


Dr. Reinertsen is recognized for continued leadership in improving healthcare quality and safety in medical groups, hospitals and health systems.


Innovation in patient safety and quality at the national level: Washington State Hospital Association, Seattle, Wash.

This organization is recognized for its Safe Tables Learning Collaborative program. The program provides the infrastructure for Washington hospitals to share experiences and learn from one other and from patient safety experts.


Innovation in patient safety and quality at the local level: The Children's Hospital at Providence Newborn Intensive Care Unit, Anchorage, Alaska

This organization is recognized for its multi-year quality improvement project to eliminate catheter-related blood stream infection in the neonatal intensive care unit.


"The innovative and exemplary work of these individuals and healthcare organizations hopefully will not only inform, but also inspire others to become champions of patient safety and quality improvement. Their achievements make it clear that substantial improvements can be made in patient safety," said Mark R. Chassin, MD, FACP, MPP, MPH, president, The Joint Commission, according to the news release. "We applaud their commitment and courage in pursuing changes that have improved the lives of many."


Read the news release about the John M. Eisenberg awards.


Read more about The Joint Commission:


- Joint Commission Publishes Healthcare Staffing Certification Review Process Guide


- Joint Commission Endoscope Tracking Requirement Poses Challenge


- Joint Commission Highlights Look-Alike/Sound-Alike Drugs

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Patient Safety Tools & Resources Database

Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers

Featured Podcast