John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award Recipients Announced

The National Quality Forum and The Joint Commission announced the 2012 winners of the John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards.

Saul N. Weingart, MD, PhD, vice president for quality improvement and patient safety and director of the Center for Patient Safety at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute in Boston received the award in the individual achievement category. Among his accomplishments are creating the Harvard Executive Sessions on Medical Error, implementing medication best practices across a six-hospital network and developing one of the earliest medication reconciliation programs.

Two healthcare systems won the award in the category "Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality at the National Level:" Oakland, Calif.-based Kaiser Permanente and Memorial Hermann Healthcare System in Houston. Kaiser Permanente received the award for its implant registries, which leverage administrative databases, electronic health records and experience in patient care to create registries that include information on medical device surveillance and surgical outcomes.

Memorial Hermann Healthcare System received its award for its High Reliability Journey from Board to Bedside initiative, which uses an aligned accountability structure to enforce high-reliability behaviors, evidence-based care and harm prevention.

More Articles on Patient Safety:

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Names 5 Winners of Transitional Care Project
AHRQ Launches Database of 333 Patient Safety Education, Training Programs

Former Secretary of the Treasury Calls for Obama to Require Patient Safety Event Reporting

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Patient Safety Tools & Resources Database

Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers

Featured Podcast