How malpractice premiums vary by specialty — anesthesiology, surgery & more

Specialists' annual malpractice premiums are significantly higher than those of primary care physicians, according to the Medscape Medical Malpractice Premium Report 2019.

Medscape surveyed more than 4,300 physicians about their malpractice coverage and how they feel about it.

Three insights:

1. Annual malpractice premium cost
Specialists: $21,000
Primary care physicians: $12,000

2. Premiums for selected specialties
OB-GYN and women's health: $46,000
Specialized surgery: $34,000
Radiology: $21,000
Anesthesiology: $15,000
Internal medicine: $14,000
Family medicine: $10,000
Psychiatry: $5,000

3. Specialists who believe their premiums are reasonable
Psychiatry: 73 percent
Oncology: 67 percent
Anesthesiology: 65 percent
Radiology: 54 percent
Internal medicine: 53 percent
Pediatrics: 52 percent
Urology: 51 percent
Dermatology: 50 percent
ENT: 49 percent
Orthopedic surgery: 49 percent
Gastroenterology: 48 percent
Specialized surgery: 47 percent
Cardiology: 46 percent
Family medicine: 46 percent
Emergency medicine: 39 percent
Neurology: 36 percent
General surgery: 36 percent
OB-GYN and women's health: 34 percent

More articles on turnarounds:
Number of independently owned ASCs drops 6 percent in a decade
3 trends affecting ASCs
3 challenges facing ASC leaders in 2020 

Copyright © 2022 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers

Featured Podcast