CMS pushes forward healthcare worker COVID-19 vaccine mandate in 25 states

CMS updated its policy Dec. 28 requiring healthcare workers in 25 states to receive the COVID-19 vaccine early next year.

Healthcare workers in the states not challenging the CMS final rule will be required to be fully vaccinated or have an exemption by Feb. 28.

Here are the states where healthcare workers must be vaccinated (or have an exemption) by Feb. 28:

  1. California
  2. Colorado
  3. Connecticut
  4. Delaware
  5. Florida
  6. Hawaii
  7. Illinois
  8. Maine
  9. Maryland
  10. Massachusetts
  11. Michigan
  12. Minnesota
  13. Nevada
  14. New Jersey
  15. New Mexico
  16. New York
  17. North Carolina
  18. Oregon
  19. Pennsylvania
  20. Rhode Island
  21. Tennessee
  22. Vermont
  23. Virginia
  24. Washington
  25. Wisconsin

CMS will not enforce the implementation in the remaining 25 states, pending the outcome of litigation.


Copyright © 2023 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers

Featured Podcast