3 things for ASCs to know about Rhode Island's surgical smoke law

Rhode Island passed legislation requiring all licensed hospitals and ASCs to implement smoke evacuation system policies for surgical procedures generating plume, according to Healthcare Facilities Today

Here are three notes:

1. Rhode Island is the first state to pass legislation tackling the issue of surgical smoke.

2. Facilities have 90 days to notify the state's health department they've adopted policies addressing surgical smoke ventilation.

3. An estimated 500,000 workers are exposed to hazardous laser or electrosurgical smoke annually.

More articles on surgery centers:
Fire temporarily closes Los Robles SurgiCenter — 4 insights
5 lawyers named award finalists for ASC lawsuit over MicroCool gowns — 4 quick facts
Pennsylvania ASC coalition slaps down $100K tax burden — 4 insights

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers