Joint Commission, NQF Announces 2011 John M. Eisenberg Award Recipients

The National Quality Forum and The Joint Commission today announced the 2011 recipients of the annual John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards.

The patient safety awards program, launched in 2002 by NQF and The Joint Commission, honors John M. Eisenberg, MD, former administrator of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. Dr. Eisenberg was also one of the founding leaders of NQF and sat on its board of directors.


Sign up for our FREE E-Weekly for more coverage like this sent to your inbox!

The honorees, selected in three award categories, include:

Individual Achievement
Kenneth I. Shine, MD — University of Texas

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality at the National Level
The Society of Hospital Medicine — Philadelphia

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality at the Local Level
New York-Presbyterian Hospital — New York
Henry Ford Health System — Detroit

Honorary Lifetime Achievement Award
Jerod M. Loeb, Ph., The Joint Commission — Oakbrook Terrace, Il.

For detailed background information on each awardee, click here.

Related Articles on Patient Safety:

Kimberly-Clark, CDC and Joint Commission Partner for Patient Education Program

Patient Safety Tool: Surgical Safety Checklist for CEOs

Patient Education Linked to Decreased Risk of Harm

Copyright © 2023 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers

Featured Podcast