BCBS Blue Distinction program to include ASC joint replacement certification — 4 insights

Written by Angie Stewart | March 07, 2019 | Print  |

HFAP's joint replacement certification for ASCs was approved for inclusion in Blue Cross Blue Shield's national quality designation program.

What you should know:

1. The BCBS Blue Distinction Specialty Care program will include HFAP's Joint Replacement Certification With Distinction for ASCs.

2. Both programs are designed to differentiate high-performing ASCs and hospitals to consumers and help facilities gain higher BCBS reimbursement for total joint replacement procedures.

3. The BCBS program recognizes Blue Distinction Centers and Blue Distinction Centers+. Both designations are awarded to facilities demonstrating their expertise in delivering specialty care, but the Blue Distinction Centers+ distinction is reserved for facilities that demonstrate cost-efficiency.

4. To earn HFAP's Joint Replacement Certification with Distinction, an ASC must hold accreditation with deemed status or Medicare certification by the state; satisfy state licensure requirements; comply with all applicable HFAP certification standards; define the population its joint replacement program serves and show at least one year of applicable performance measures.

More articles on accreditation:
AAAHC-accredited center to know: Associated Gastroenterology Medical Group Endoscopy Center
AAAHC-accredited center to know: ACCESS Surgery Center
AAAHC-accredited center to know: BayCare Surgery Center

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.

To receive the latest hospital and health system business and legal news and analysis from Becker's Hospital Review, sign-up for the free Becker's Hospital Review E-weekly by clicking here.