4 things to know about orthopedic certification in ASCs

Rachel Popa - Print  |

The Joint Commission outlined four things to know about its orthopedic certification programs for ASCs.

Four details:

1. The orthopedic systems of care certification options for ASCs:

● Advanced certification for total hip and total knee replacement
● Core hip replacement certification
● Core knee replacement certification
● Core spinal surgery certification

2. The differences between core and advanced knee and hip certifications:

● Core certification requires a one-day review, while advanced certification requires a two-day review with a patient undergoing an on-site hip or knee replacement.
● Core certification does not require intraoperative observation, but advanced certification does.
● The healthcare organization undergoing the survey chooses the four performance measures, two of which must be clinical.
● Core certification includes core disease-specific care standards, while advanced certification includes those same standards, plus program-specific requirements.

3. Requirements for the core hip and knee replacement certifications include a perioperative team visit, staff hand-off discussion, reliability-focused team, discharge processes review and implementation of functional outcome measures.

4. The core spinal surgery certification requires compliance with national standards, use of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines for discectomy, spinal fusion and laminectomy patient populations and collecting four spinal surgery patient population performance measures, two of which must be clinical.

More articles on accreditation:
AAAHC-accredited center to know: Cape Regional Eye Center
5 steps to preparing for an ASC accreditation survey
AAAHC-accredited center to know: Albany Regional Eye Center

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.