AANA to recognize 6 CRNAs, photographer at Annual Congress

The American Association of Nurse Anesthetists will recognize several clinicians at the organization's Annual Congress in Chicago, Aug. 9-13.

What you should know:

  • Scott Urigel, CRNA, will receive the 34th Annual Alice Magaw Outstanding Clinical Anesthesia Practitioner Award. The Alice Magaw award recognizes a CRNA who is directly involved in direct patient care.
  • Cormac O'Sullivan, PhD, MSN, CRNA, administrator of the Iowa City-based University of Iowa College of Nursing DNP Program, will receive the Program Director of the Year Award.
  • Kay Sanders, DNP, CRNA, will receive the 39th Annual Helen Lamb Outstanding Educator Award for her work at Fort Worth-based Texas Christian University.
  • Wallena Gould, CRNA, will receive the 45th Annual Agatha Hodgins Award for Outstanding Accomplishment for her life's work and for founding the Diversity in Nurse Anesthesia Mentorship Program in 2007
  • Jennifer Schmitt, CRNA, will receive the 2019 Ira P. Gunn Award for Outstanding Professional Advocacy for her work with the Oklahoma Association of Nurse Anesthetists.
  • Chris Muckler, CRNA, will receive the Didactic Instructor of the Year Award for her work at Durham, N.C.-based Duke University.
  • Chicago photographer John Wheeler will be inducted into the AANA as an honorary member. Mr. Wheeler has worked tirelessly to document the association's history.

More articles on surgery centers: 
Applications for virtual reality in outpatient surgery centers — 3 Qs with an expert
3 things to know about cardiology in ASCs
Physician-owned micro hospital opening & 4 other must-read articles

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers