Outpatient Surgery Adverse Events Reporting Requirements Changed in California
California Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. recently signed a bill into law that requires accredited outpatient surgery centers to report adverse events to the Medical Board of California, according to a report from the California Ambulatory Surgery Association.
The new law took effect on Jan. 1 and is a change from the previous reporting requirements, which required adverse events in accredited outpatient settings be reported to the California Department of Public Health.
Now accredited outpatient surgery setting adverse events must be reported within five days of the event detection or within 24 hours after an adverse event that is an ongoing urgent or emergent threat to the welfare, health or safety of the patient, personnel or visitors.
The Medical Board of California could assess a feel of $100 or less for each day an adverse event is not reported following the initial reporting period.
More Articles on Surgery Centers:
Partial Knee Replacements With Robotic Technology: A New Trend for ASCs
11 ASCs 10 Years Old or Younger
What's Ahead for the ASC Industry in 2014?
© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2012. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.
New from Becker's ASC Review
PriorityOne Launches New Corporate Identity, Moves to Bigger OfficeRead Now
- 4 Tips for ASCs to Select a Business Analytics System and Streamline Collections
- Business Advisor Relationships: 4 Common Mistakes ASCs Make
- Corporate Compliance Committees: Why Healthcare Facilities Need One
- PriorityOne Launches New Corporate Identity, Moves to Bigger Office
- Online Preoperative Screening Advantages: Q&A With Ambulatory Surgical Center of Stevens Point's Becky Ziegler-Otis