5 Gastroenterologists Serving in International GI Society Leadership Positions

Share on Facebook
The following is a listing of five gastroenterologists serving in leadership positions for international GI societies. If you would like to recommend another gastroenterologist for this list, please contact Carrie Pallardy at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .  

David Bjorkman, MD, MSPH, is treasurer of the World Gastroenterology Organization. Dr. Bjorkman is dean and executive director of medical affairs at the Florida Atlantic University Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine in Boca Raton. Dr. Bjorkman is a fellow of a number of professional organizations including the Royal College of Physicians, American College of Physicians, American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy, American College of Gastroenterology and American Society for Laser Medicine and Surgery. He completed his gastroenterology fellowship at Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston.

Douglas A. Drossman, MD, is a director of the International Foundation for Functional Gastrointestinal Disorders and chair of the foundation's scientific advisory board. He is the co-director emeritus of the UNC Center for Functional GI and Motility Disorders in Chapel Hill, N.C. Dr. Drossman and William E. Whitehead, PhD, established the center in 1994. Dr. Drossman is also an adjunct professor of medicine and psychiatry at the University of North Carolina School of Medicine. His research centers on the clinical, epidemiological, psychological and treatment aspects of gastrointestinal disorders. He practices at Drossman Gastroenterology in Chapel Hill, N.C.

Eamonn Quigley, MD, is chairman of the World Gastroenterology Organization. In 2013, he joined The Methodist Hospital in Houston as chief of its gastroenterology division. Dr. Quigley also serves as the medical director of the Linda K. and David M. Underwood Center for Digestive Disorders at the hospital. He is a past president of the American College of Gastroenterology and World Gastroenterology Organization. He completed his fellowship at Mayo Clinic. His past experience includes division chief of gastroenterology and hepatology at the University of Nebraska Medical Center in Omaha and dean of the medical school at the University College, Cork in Ireland.

Prateek Sharma, MD, is chair of the World Gastroenterology Organization publications committee. Dr. Sharma is a professor of gastroenterology, hepatology and motility at University of Kansas Medical Center. Dr. Sharma is also the director of the fellowship training program and clinical research at the University of Kansas School of Medicine. He focuses his research efforts on Barrett's esophagus, esophageal cancer, risk analysis and imaging. He completed his gastroenterology fellowship at the University of Arizona in Tucson.

Mark Topazian, MD, is chair of the World Gastroenterology Organization endoscopy interest group. Dr. Topazian practices at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn. He earned his medical degree from Yale University School of Medicine in New Haven, Conn., and completed his residency at Yale-New Haven Hospital. Dr. Topazian underwent his fellowship training at the University of California, San Francisco. He has interests including endoscopic ultrasound, ERCP, pancreatic disease and early cancers.

More Articles on Gastroenterology:
10 Gastroenterologists Focused on Pancreatic Disorders & Diseases
6 Gastroenterologists Serving as Editors-in-Chief of GI Journals
18 Gastroenterologists Leading State & City GI Societies

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2012. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


New from Becker's ASC Review

35 summer reading picks for surgeons

Read Now